Skip to Content

Alcohol Beverage Laws for Minors

IF A MINOR:

  • Purchases
  • Attempts to Purchase
  • Possession
  • Consumption
  • Misrepresention of Age
  • Public Intoxication by Minor

The Following Penalties Shall be Imposed:

First Offense:

  • Class C misdemeanor: $0 - $500

  • Alcohol awareness course

  • 8 - 12 hours community service

  • 30 days driver's license suspension or denial

Second Offense:

  • Class C misdemeanor: $0 - $500

  • Possible alcohol awareness course

  • 20 - 40 hours community service

  • 90 days driver's license suspension or denial

Third Offense (Under 17):

  • 180 days driver's license suspension or denial

  • Juvenile court-child in need of supervision

  • Criminal court-adjudicated as an adult

Third Offense (17 - Older):

  • Class B misdemeanor: $250-$2,000 fine

  • Confinement in jail up to 180 days

  • Possible alcohol awareness course

  • 180 days driver's license suspension or denial

**Source: Texas Alcohol Beverage Commission & Texas Department of Transportation