Skip to Content

DWI Penalties in Texas

FIRST OFFENSE*  

  • Up to a $2,000 fine
  • Three to 180 days in jail
  • Loss of driver's license for up to a year
  • $1,000 or $2,000 annual fee for three years to retain driver's license
SECOND OFFENSE*   
  • Up to a $4,000 fine  
  • One month to a year in jail
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years
  • $1,000 , $1,500, or $2,000 annual fee for three years to retain driver's license
THIRD OFFENSE*
  • Up to a $10,000 fine
  • Two to 10 years in prison
  • Loss of driver's license for up to two years
  • $1,000, $1,500, or $2,000 annual fee for three years to retain driver's license
* After two or more DWI convictions in five years, motorists must install a special ignition switch that prevents their vehicle from being operated if they've been drinking.
** Source: 'DWI Blues' Texas Department of Transportation

DWI Stats in Texas

  • In Travis County in 2005, 52 people were killed in alcohol-related crashes.
  • In Texas in 2005, of the 3,104 fatal crashes that occurred, 1,398 (45%) were alcohol-related.
  • The percentage of crashes that are alcohol-related in Texas (46.5%) is far above the national average (40%)
** Source: National Center for Statistics and Analysis, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration