Texas State University Logo

DUI: Zero Tolerance

♦Consumption While Driving♦
It is illegal for a minor to drive while having any detectable amount of alcohol in the minor's system.

The following penalties shall be imposed:

First Offense:
  • Class C misdemeanor: $0 - $500
  • Alcohol awareness course
  • 20 - 40 hours community service
  • 30 days ineligible for occupational license
     
Second Offense:
  • Class C misdemeanor: $0 - $500
  • Possible alcohol awareness course
  • 40 - 60 hours community service
  • 120 days driver's license suspension
     
  • 90 days ineligalbe for occupational license
Third Offense (Under 17):
  • 180 days driver's license suspension
  • Ineligible for occupational license
     
  • Juvenile court-delinquent conduct
     
  • Criminal court-adjudicated as an adult
Third Offense (17 - Older):
  • Class B misdemeanor: $500 - $2,000 fine
  • Confinement in jail up to 180 days
  • 180 days driver's license suspension
  • Ineligible for occupational license
**Source: Texas Alcohol Beverage Commission & Texas Department of Transportation