Texas State University Logo
Banner Image
adjust type sizemake font smallermake font largerreset font size

Alcohol Beverage Laws for Minors

IF A MINOR:

► Purchases ► Attempts to Purchase ► Possession ► Consumption ► Misrepresention of Age ► Public Intoxication by Minor

The Following Penalties Shall be Imposed:

First Offense:
  • Class C misdemeanor: $0 - $500
  • Alcohol awareness course
  • 8 - 12 hours community service
  • 30 days driver's license suspension or denial
Second Offense:
  • Class C misdemeanor: $0 - $500
  • Possible alcohol awareness course
  • 20 - 40 hours community service
  • 90 days driver's license suspension or denial
Third Offense (Under 17):
  • 180 days driver's license suspension or denial
  • Juvenile court-child in need of supervision
  • Criminal court-adjudicated as an adult
Third Offense (17 - Older):
  • Class B misdemeanor: $250-$2,000 fine
  • Confinement in jail up to 180 days
  • Possible alcohol awareness course
  • 180 days driver's license suspension or denial
**Source: Texas Alcohol Beverage Commission & Texas Department of Transportation